Pan de Biscotcho

One of our weekend breakfast staple is pandesal.  Kobe, my eldest is a bread monster.  I mean really, his face would always light up whenever there is fresh, hot bread on the table.  The thing is, sometimes I get carried away and end up having left overs.  So what do I do with left over pandesal or any loaf bread? Simple I make “pan de biscotcho”.  Biscotcho is a local biscotti-like bread.  Only, my recipe is chewier and sweeter than the usual Italian favorite.

14064310_10208201679574346_5635719943839800320_n

I came up with this recipe when I tasted biscotcho sold at the office.  It was really good but P75 per pop was steep.  So one day with leftover pandesal hanging around and organic honey in the pantry, I decided to test it out. VOILA! Perfect pan de biscotcho

Sorry folks, I don’t have exact measurements.  I do mostly by feel and taste. But this is really easy.

 

Pan de Biscotcho

5-6 pcs pan de sal or any bread, sliced in halves
 (stale bread works best)
butter, 1/4 c, softened
honey 2~3 tbs or depending on how sweet you prefer
vanilla 1 tsp
pinch of salt

preheat oven at 350°
mix together softened butter, honey, vanilla, and salt
spread on pandesal halves
arrange bread on baking tray
bake for 30 minutes
cool on racks before serving

best enjoyed with coffee



 

Leave a Reply

