logo Zumba

Image via Wikipedia


As promised, Im writing about my latest work-out discovery, the Zumba.  I first heard this from friends abroad.  They say that doing the zumba aside from being so much fun, it also really works up a ton of sweat.

Sweat and fun…two magic words that sold me out.  Bingo!  Exactly what I need.  Immediately my fingers got busy. What is this new program that’s creating such a buzz in the fitness world?

Zumba is a Latin inspired fitness program created by choreographer Beto Perez during the 90’s.  It involves dance and aerobic elements.  Its routine includes hip hop, salsa, samba, merengue, mambo and some bollywood moves.  The music used is also an ecclectic mix of Latin rythms like regaeton, soca, flamenco, tango, cha-cha, and cumbia.  They say zumba help a person loose about 500-1000 calories.  Not bad, isn’t it?

Im sure Zumba classes are so happenning already in diffrent gyms.  But if you’re a busy working mom like me who haven’t got the time for gym, dvd’s are available.  I got mine from ebay (not sure if video shops has it).  The entire Zumba fitness collection has 10 videos included.  Routines varies from beginners, cardio party, zumba power, zumba abs, tighs etc.  Choose your level.

Had my first taste of Zumba 3 days ago.  Today is my 2nd day in “class”.  Yeah, I really did work up a sweat.   I tell you, its not that easy.  But it’s fun.  The music is really funky and upbeat.  I still have to pump up my footwork, though.

One thought on “working-out

Leave a Reply

