Love in the Time of Cholera, the Movie

                                                 Love in the Time of Cholera 

      While on leave yesterday, I had the chance to watch the screen adaptation of one of my favorite novel, Love in the Time of Cholera.  My husband chanced upon a dvd the other day and decided on impulse to buy it for me.  I guess he knew how much I love books-to-movies stuff.  Besides, Im a fan of Gabriel Garcia-Marquez.

Anyways, I even don’t remember the film being shown here in our country.  This is really a welcome surprise.  So how did it go? Hmmm… well, like most movie adaptations, the book is always better.  But, I’ll have to say that the cinematography is good.  Scenes are really vivid and time was captured well.  I’ll have to you, folks about some nudity and laguage.  This is not your ordinary love story.  I describe it being a cross between cheesy and seductive.  Well, yeah, there are a few laughs every now and then.

For the unfamiliar, the book and the movie tells of heart warming story of the enduring power of true love.  It is the story of Florentino Ariza who waits for more that half a century to claim the hand of Fermina Daza, the woman he loves.

Leave a Reply

