aloha friday#9

on

                                           

Welcome to this week’s edition of Aloha Friday.

In Hawaii, Aloha Friday is the day that we take it easy and look forward to the weekend.  Kailani of An Island Life thought that on Fridays everyone  would take it easy on posting, too.   I’ll be posting simple questons that require no lengthy answers.

My question for the week revolves around birthdays.  Since mine’s just around the corner, I’d like to know somrthing:

do you have a birthday ritual? or perhaps something special you do every year on your birthday?

for the longest time now, i’d wake up in the middle of the night on the eve of my birthday.  i go to the kitchen, fix myself some instant noodles,  sit alone for a few hours and bask the quietness of the moment. 

If you’d like to participate, just post your own question on your blog and leave your link below. Don’t forget to visit the other participants! It’s a great way to make new bloggy friends!

22 Comments Add yours

  1. For myself? No. I’ll have to think about starting one, though.

    For my children, I take a photo of them on the exact minute of their birth each year. 😀

  2. Anne says:

    My family takes me to a place called Joes Crab Schack every year. I never get sick of it

    Aloha Anne

  3. Angela says:

    Nope. Although, there is usually a meteor shower every year on or very close to my birthday. (August 10th)

    Happy impending Birthday!

    My Aloha Friday 🙂

  4. chris says:

    hm.. we eat out at a nice restaurant with my family, my parents and my siblings… 🙂

  5. Ave says:

    Cake with candles.

  6. Nothing too special for me. Usually go out to dinner with my hubby and have a cookie cake with the kids and my parents.

  7. jaime says:

    hubby gives me my card at midnight (if we’re both awake) every year. does that count?

  8. Sues2u2 says:

    I like to get a DQ ice cream cake although the two DQ’s down here are awful. Not certain what I’ll start doing instead. My sister makes a great PB/Choc bar cookie but since the kids don’t like it I’d be eating it on my own. Hmmmm, maybe that would be just the ticket! lol

    Happy upcoming Birthday!

  9. Kekibird says:

    My mom and dad allow us to choose what we want for dinner on our birthday.

  10. shelly says:

    Our birthday ritual is usually picking out the kind of cake we want & maybe going out to dinner or getting our favorite meal cooked at home.

  11. Kimberly says:

    I like to go out to dinner. Ask me what I want and I will always want to go out to dinner with my husband. This year I will be turning 30 so I may change it up a bit and add a night filled with drinking afterward!

  12. My MOM has a tradition; she calls every one of her children and grandchildren and sings “Happy Birthday” over the phone to them. I find that I now do this to my own kids, continuing the tradition!

    1. Oh, and for our three kids, I take out their baby books and share the story of their birth and early years with them, again and again.

  13. thatmommy says:

    pretend i am NOT 1 yr older. lol.

  14. Ric says:

    No birthday traditions for me…well other than….well thats personal…lol…..Thanks for adding me….I hope that you enjoy my expressions…;) xoxoxo

  15. Stacie says:

    I really don’t have a ritual we do for any of our birthdays. The kids we try to have a party for every year. But ours nope!

  16. MommyAmy says:

    Usually I go out to dinner with my hubby and parents. I love celebrating with the people who love me the most! 🙂

  17. Becca says:

    I love going out to dinner with my family on my birthday…that didn’t happen this year tho lol

  18. Thom says:

    When I was growing up, and to this day, my family puts a dime in the cake and whoever gets the piece gets good luck. Of course you can spend the dime either. I want to wish you a very happy birthday tommorow. It’s just another day 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my playground. Much appreciated 🙂 Aloha

  19. Great question. We usually eat out. My birthday is on Halloween so we rarely eat out on my real birthday. It is usually celebrated by eating out at a favorite spot. One of my favorite memories was when my son drove home from college (2.5 hours away) just to eat dinner with me and then headed right back to school. Very sweet.

    Thanks for stopping by my site and leaving a note. I have launched a Meme called “5 Things Friday.” Come by next week and play along if you like. Blessings.

  20. Aside from nagging everyone about hurrying up with my presents? ;-D

Leave a Reply

