aloha friday #8

Welcome to this week’s edition of Aloha Friday.

In Hawaii, Aloha Friday is the day that we take it easy and look forward to the weekend.  Kailani of An Island Life thought that on Fridays everyone  would take it easy on posting, too.   I’ll be posting simple questons that require no lengthy answers.

If you’d like to participate, just post your own question on your blog and leave your link below. Don’t forget to visit the other participants! It’s a great way to make new bloggy friends!

My 9 year old son has been begging me to get him a cellphone.  I constantly make up excuses for not buying him one because in my mind, he’s too young for such a gadget.  His friends though, in school seem to think otherwise.

So, my question for the week is:

will you give in to your child’s request just because everyone in class has the very thing he wants?

16 thoughts on “aloha friday #8

  1. Nope. I don’t care what others have. Their life is different. Maybe all the kids in school have cell phones because their parents are never home and feel guilty? Maybe all the kids have cell phones because they all said “everyone else….” and their parents believed them.

    My older daughter got her first cell phone at age 16, when she began driving. My other daughter got hers at age 11 when she began cheerleading and needed to call me when practices were running late so I wouldn’t have to sit in the parking lot waiting.

  2. As a parent and teacher I think it is crazy that young kids have cell phone. I am not one to cave into pressure and hope this will not be an issue when my kids are older. Good luck!

  3. No way! My daughter’s (8 yo) friend has a cell phone and laptop. She wants one but I dont feel she is old enough or responsible enough. I was 18 and had a job before I got a cell phone and 24 before I got a laptop. It doesnt teach them how to handle money…

  4. Depends on the child. If they are one that is always gone with sports teams or something like that–then yes, I would give him one. I like to be able to stay in touch. I make sure my 16 yr old has hers…and it is adequately charged everytime she leaves the house.

  5. No way. I think it’s crazy that kids have cell phones that young unless it purely for emergency purposes and your child has to communicate with parents that are no longer married. We definitely don’t give in to the “well everyone else has one” syndrome. 🙂

  6. Personally I did not. I recall my boys wanting cell phones because everyone had them. They had no need for one and were far too young, IMO. My boys are all teens and driving and they actually share cell phone usage when out or at meets.

  7. I work in a school where I have seen kid after kid lose their phones. The kids that are younger than junior high just aren’t responsible enough yet.

  8. I’m really surprised how early kids get cellphones nowadays. My niece received a cellphone for her 7th birthday from his parents.

    I have one child and I admit that he knows how to sweetly get what he wants but as much as possible, I don’t give in to everything he wants especially if it’s not practical. For instance, his birthday is coming up. He is requesting for several toys. I told him to choose just one. I’m glad he agreed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

