Practice Makes Perfect

My children’s caregiver is such a blessing to us.  Aside from looking after the kids, she also does all around work (laundry, housekeeping, etc).  She is also an excellent cook.  I think I’ve mentioned her natural talent in some of my entries.  Anyways, just recently, she was making kwento about my daughter, Julia.  She told me that she learns to speak English from her.  I replied that it was good, at least now both of them can actually converse.

Yaya Rose would sometimes peak through Julia’s books and attempt to mimick my daughter’s intonations.  I admire her efforts to learn.  It seems, too that the kids also take delight in sharing their knowledge.  I can hear my son “correct” Yaya of her grammar or pronunciation.  Here is a funny but enlightening instance:

(One evening in the room with me, the kids and yaya…..)

  • Yaya :  Julia, come… let’s watch your book (she actually meant “read”)
  • Kobe  :  Read, not watch, ate Rose

(After two hours)

  • Yaya  :  Kobe… Julia “free”
  • Kobe  :  What, ate Rose?  What’s free? 

(all the while I was just listening to the conversation)

  • Yaya  :  (acting exhasperated… ) you know, dapat every night Julia and you must “free” before sleeping
  • Julia  :  pray…
  • Kobe  :  Pray, ate Rose not “free”.  pagsinabi mo “free” it means libre or out of prison

(I couldn’t hide a chuckle…I was laughing.  When I regained composure, I acknowledged her efforts and encouraged her to practice  a little more)

Well, there is a marked improvement already.  Yaya can not only speak but her pronunciation is better.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Margo says:

    what a nice story. I love how vunerable you have to let yourself be to learn a foreign language. I know one of the reasons I am pretty good (not great) at this, is I’m not afraid to look like a total fool.

  2. Arlene says:

    hi Abby, happy new Year! Ang ganda ng effort ng mga kids mo to teach the yaya. Sana si yaya mas lalong matuto. she will learn eventually huwag lang sya mahiya or ma intimidate. 🙂

  3. kewlkidd22 says:

    I like the idea of Yaya trying to learn more about english. 🙂 It’s free to learn that language. 🙂

    I also like your kids helping out, they’d grow as good and helpful kids someday. 🙂

    Nice Blog!

  4. momsheart says:

    LOL! I this is really funny and so true! I have a daycare so I can totally relate with Yaya, I find myself being corrected by the kids most of the time , ha-ha-ha! Kids never ceased to amuse me…………

    enjoy them while they’re young….. and still cute, uknow what I mean…. hehe

  5. momsheart says:

    LOL! I this is really funny and so true! I have a daycare so I can totally relate with Yaya, I find myself being corrected by the kids most of the time , ha-ha-ha! Kids never ceased to amuse me…………

    enjoy them while they’re young….. and still cute, uknow what I mean…. hehe

Leave a Reply

