Bettymania

I love Betty!.  This is my current fave local prime-time series.  Frankly, this have become an accidental hit to me because I rarely watch local shows (it’s mostly Disney, Cartoon Network, and ETC at home).  I happened to chance upon this when my daughter was confined in the hospital.  Having no other channel to watch, we both settled for Kapamilya.  I was amazed how good the initial telecast was.  Really funny, yet touching to a point.  I’ve been won over since then.

Bea Alonzo’s transformation was stunning.  Such a striking resemblance with the original Betty.  John Lloyd’s role as Armando fits me to a T.  And mind you folks, both leads and other cast members delivers quite an impressive performance.  I even found Ruffa’s portrayal of the fashion bitch, Daniela convincing! One, minor comment, though.  I find Sheryn Reyes’ delivery too theatrical. 

Not once have I watch the original Yo Soy Betty La Fea but heard that it was a huuge hit back in 1999.  I had my share of the Ugly Betty series but I find our version funnier and heartwarming,  just right for the Filipino audience.

Bingo! Another milestone for ABS-CBN.

photo courtesy of yehey entertainment
2 Comments Add yours

  1. pst! you should be hooked with Iisa Pa Lamang, i know you’ll gonna like it hee.

    PS: siguro late na napadara ni tita babes si box tsk tsk thats too bad, i have a feeling dai na kasya kay julia si jelly sandals.

    Stripe&Yellow
    Something Purple
    Em’s Detour
    Living the Healthy Life
    Doll Me Up
    Vanity Kit

  2. Dawn says:

    i’m hooked to the show as well. but that was mainly because i have watched the original betty la fea and was curious how abs-cbn would deliver it to the filipino audience. well, the same way i was hooked with marimar. i guess both shows lived up to my expectations.

    i do agree too that sheryn regis acts somewhat theatrical. maybe she isn’t used to acting? or maybe because she’s acting that way in her music videos?

    and yes, bea is perfect as betty. who would know she’s actually beautiful behind all those props?

Leave a Reply

