Zero

I was so disappointed last night when I saw my son’s Math seatwork.  Kobe came home with a big, fat ZERO marked in his workbook.  I didn’t know how to react, much less hide my dismay.  When I asked him, he simply said that he didn’t understand how to solve the equations.  This is so not him.  I know that Math is one of his best subjects.  In fact, he almost gets the perfect score in all his quizzes and seatwork. 

Actually, the disappointment and fustration I feel is more toward my self than him.  I felt, or was so ineffective because I was not able to help him with homework and lessons.  The past week came and went like a blur, taking care of Julia in the hospital.  I missed some lessons, thus Kobe was at the loosing end.  It was really difficult, if not utterly impossible to be at two places at the same time.

Kobe was affected as well.  Being a sensitive kid, I know that he strives to do his best in everything.  His competitiveness must have resulted from the thought of not wanting to disappoint us.  I mustered the courage for patience as I explained to him that it was ok.  There is a first time for everything.  What I did stress out is for him to have the courage and the humility to acknowledge that he needs, and must seek help if the situation call for it.

We did solve the equations together.  I taught him number regrouping and adding by “carry-ones”.  Doing the next two pages of drill by himself, he got a perfect score.

Yahoo!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ria says:

    hope your son’s doing better in math 🙂 as a teacher-slash-tutor myself I often feel the same frustration and angst mommies feel when they know their kids can do better but wasn’t able to 🙂 kudos to you, teacher-mom!

Leave a Reply

