Kobe’s 1st Soccer Match

Last weekend was Kobe’s (#22 RAMIREZ) very first RIFA soccer match.  The games were held at the International School in Taguig.  The Marist School midgets team (Kobe’s Team) competed with six other schools in Manila.  The games officially started around 7:30 am and lasted until 1:30 in the afternoon.  This was the first time for all of us.  I didn’t realize how serious the whole event and the games was until I saw all the players and the coaches.  The kids were kept on their feet the whole time and had only like 15 minute break after each game.

 

 

 

 

 

 

We were first pitted against Don Bosco (in blue socks).  I was so tensed watching the boys manuever the ball.  bUt my heart really made a big thump when I saw Kobe.  I knew that he was their team’s goalkeeper but I (again) didn’t realize the magnitude of his role in the team till I watched him play.  I was so scared and proud at the same time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our next games was against La Salle.  The third was with Southville School.  Fourth, fifth, and sixth games were against Colegio De San Agustin, Ateneo, and Holistic School.  Of all the games, our team faired well, considering this is their very first tournament.  We scored 2 wins, 2 losses, and 2 draws. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More than anything else, we had so much fun.  One could easily feel how proud all the parents were with their sons.  Hubby was no exeption.  During the course of Kobe’s training and practice (wich is almost everday after class) Hubby ALWAYS made it a point to be with him.  Other soccer moms would even ask him to be the assistant coach (LOL).  Thank goodness that his work schedule fits ferfectly with Kobe’s soccer training.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was on the sidelines watching and praying.  It was such a stressful day for me.  I had a terrific time, though.  Next games will be on Sept 13 at the Xavier School.  This time, I’ll remember to bring tons of SPF and a wide brim hat amd lots of water. LOL!

3 thoughts on “Kobe’s 1st Soccer Match

Leave a Reply

