Death in the Office

on

I got a very sad, and disturbing call early this morning.  My boss called to say that one of our guards at the 30th floor committed suicide by shooting himself in the head.  The news took a while for me to digest.  I was in total shock and numb with disbelief.  The guard, Manong Ed had become a friend and an ally.  I remember him vividly opening doors and holding the elevators for us these past 10 years.

In fact, I’ve spoken to him yesterday and we exchanged stories about the our kids and family.  He didn’t even show any signs of strain or depression.  He was his old, jolly self.  I called the office this morning and one of the guards told me that Manong Ed left a suicide note.  I don’t know if it’s a consolation on my part being on leave today (have to bring julia to the pulmo), at least I’ll be spared the gory and visual details of this very unfortunate event.

My heart goes out to his wife and son. Sad, sad, sad indeed

One Comment Add yours

  1. this is such tragic news abby, grabe the most cheerful people talaga tend to be in the most depressed situations. let’s pray for his peace in heaven.

Leave a Reply

