The World’s Oldest Blogger

Here I go again.  Cracking my brains out, praying for something genius to write about.  Then by some stroke of luck, I was led to “The World’s Oldest Blogger”.  Her name is Maria Amelia Lopez, who at age 95 has outdone herself and surprised the world by starting a personal blog called A mis 95 Anyos/95 Years Old Blogger


In her very first entry, Maria  wrote

Amigos de Internet, hoy cumplo 95 años. Me llamo María Amelia y nací en Muxía (A Coruña) el 23 de Diciembre de 1911. Hoy es mi cumpleaños y mi nieto como es muy cutre me regalo un blog. Espero poder escribir mucho y contaros las vivencias de una señora de mi edad. — (My friends in Internet, today I am 95 years old. My name is Amelia and I was born in Muxía (A Coruña – Spain) on December the 23rd of 1911. Today it’s my birthday and my grandson, who is very stingy, gave me a blog.)

As I read her entries (thanks to a translator), I found that she loves to write about her youth and her experiences during the war.  Her thoughts on politics, religion, technology, even fashion is really very amusing.  Her insights on love and life reminds me of Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

There’s no stopping this grandmama.  Although afflicted with cataracts, her blogging  pace is not to be slowed down.  Her grandson, Daniel helps her with her posts.   Maria has throngs of fans across the globe.  People from Australia, China, Russia, Alaska, Germany, Japan, Portugal, India, even Nigeria hits on her site daily.

So there, folks.  A living, unique proof that the internet and the blog knows no bounds.  VIVA MAMITA!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jean says:

    wow, this is interesting! what a great way to write down yr experiences! 🙂

Leave a Reply

