Kids Say The Darnest Things

I couldn’t help not posting this converation I had last night with my son.  We were about to go to sleep when he, out of the blue said:

KOBE:  Ma, you know I think di ka na love ni Dad
ME:  Why?
KOBE:  Di ka na nya masyado pinapansin.  
       He doesn't even talk to you anymore.
ME:  Of course not.  Sure we talk... a lot but Dad's been 
     very busy and our schedules don't exactly meet.
KOBE:  Yeah, but he's always around me and Julia

I admit, we don’t get to see each other. But only because work has took a great deal of our “together” time. Im in the office. He’s at home.  And vice versa.  This is one of the downside and the challenges of being a call center agent’s wife.  I usually bridge the gap by calling the house before Hubby leaves.  Knowing my husband, he’s not the type who would go out of way to call about trivial stuff.  It took quite of getting used to on my part but that’s the way he is.  He shows he cares in the most unexpected, unconventional ways.

I waited up for him to get home this morning.  When I told him about “our little conversation”, he was amazed on how observant and sensitive Kobe has become.  True, kids say the darnest things but I guess they also have the wisest thought.  Hubby has realized it.  We should perhaps shake off the comfort zone and once again remind ourselves that marriage is still a work in progress.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. cheryll says:

    naku, you listen to kobe and julia always because from that conversation alone, you can see how vulnerable they are and how observant they are of you and roy. They notice every little thing. The fact that kobe mentioned that to you is a clear indication that he (too) is bothered by it. They (children) need stability pa naman when it comes to family. So make sure you show kobe and julia how you and roy love each other. And this love is getting stronger each day ha. Congrats for rekindling that love! Bilib ako sa inyo ni roy.

  2. Juliana says:

    Yep, kids are indeed very observant. When you think they’re not listening or looking…bam! They get you. How I wish they stay this observant once they are in middle and high school…

    Hi Abby…hopping lang me.

    Juliana

  3. Juliana says:

    Got you tagged Abby. Link is my name…

  4. It’s amazing how kids can be so keen on things happening around them. They are great observers and they have a wonderful way of reminding us adults about the important things in life.

  5. Michelle says:

    Hi Abby! I have already linked you at my link page. Thank you for your warm welcome. Hope to hear from you again! …Kids can be very tactless sometimes (or I may say oftentimes)…maybe they just can’t help but care. We’re blessed to have them.My daughter is my best critic. My son, 2nd to the best hahaha. My youngest, still learning. My husband, he’s my number 1 fan. Hi Abby! I have already linked you at my link page. Thank you for your warm welcome. Hope to hear from you again! …Kids can be very straight to the point sometimes (or I may say oftentimes)…maybe they just can’t help but care. We’re blessed to have them.My daughter is my best critic. My son, 2nd to the best hahaha. My youngest, still learning. My husband, he’s my number 1 fan. Hi Abby! I have already linked you at my link page. Thank you for your warm welcome. Hope to hear from you again! …Kids can be very straight to the point sometimes (or I may say oftentimes)…maybe they just can’t help but care. We’re blessed to have them.My daughter is my best critic. My son, 2nd to the best hahaha. My youngest, still learning. My husband, he’s my number 1 fan. 

Leave a Reply

